Winter Fashion Dilemma Solved

Y’all

*celestial music*

Revelation Time!

So, in Edinburgh, we’re approaching the end of winter. Let me repeat that just in case the Scottish climate gods haven’t heard me. We are approaching the END of winter. And you know what I’ve learnt?

You do not have to look ugly during winter. REPEAT. You do not have to look ugly during the winter.

I know, I know, I hear what you’re all thinking: “Asha, you can be fashionable in every season, EVERYONE knows that!”

Listen, ok, I KNOW that, I’ve seen Vogue and Essence and Michelle Obama’s purple coat but in my defence…

*whiny voice*

…I’m from the tropics ok. We enter buildings to cool down, not to thaw out warm up.  The concept of coats is generally unheard of. At a stretch, I would wear a cardigan in an over-vigorously air-conditioned office. But it was a temporary measure, not intended for stylin’ and profilin’ .

I’m used to having one shot, using one layer of clothing to make an impression…to express myself. So I would dress all fly in Scotland (as I would in Trinidad *cough*sometimes*cough*) and all my efforts were covered by my coat. An ugly coat thus nullified all my attempts at cuteness. When the cold hit me (despite my self-directed pep talks and best intentions), I wasn’t thinking of looking good, I just grabbed my warmest (albeit my ugliest, most un-shapely) coat because all I was concerned with was getting warm and comfortable…yeah…comfortable. That’s the word-that-should-remain-unspoken by fashionistas…’comfortable‘. Because we all know that ‘comfortable‘ is a euphemism for cat-lady-busted.

Example:

-“Mom, why are you wearing those ugly shoes?!”

-“Child, let me be…I’m comfortable

Conversely, on the other end of the spectrum, a snazzy coat can cover up a frumpy outfit. I’m just learning this. Winter fashion is ALL about the silhouette, using layers to keep warm and experimenting with colour accents like a scarf, hat, belt or shoes or even gloves to change the look of a plain coat.

let Aunty Shelly ..the FLOTUS, show you how *sigh*…when I get my money right

let Aunty Shelly ..the FLOTUS, show you how *sigh*…when I get my money right

The infamous purple coat that Michelle Obama wore for the Presidential inauguration

The infamous purple coat that Michelle Obama wore for the Presidential inauguration

*BRAINWAVE*All my sexy ladies looking for love, are you worried that guys are only pursuing you for your bawdy? In wintertime, you’re covered from head to toe, so no worries about that. It’s all about the face. Matter fact, you should try to get into a romantic relationship during the colder months ‘so you know it’s real’. Let me know how it works out for you. However, if you feel pressed to show errbawdy what you’re working with, invest in a short coat 😉

Check me out, flying in my fly coat…ooooo.

full screen this picture rightchea because honestly, we all know that what your life really needs is a screen full of this awesomesauce. Big ups to Nicole Jean the photographer. And just in case you weren’t gob-smacked enough, this picture is straight-from-camera, #SFC, # nophotoshop #getonourlevel

full screen this picture rightchea because honestly, we all know that what your life really needs is a screen full of this awesomesauce. Big ups to Nicole Jean the photographer. And just in case you weren’t gob-smacked enough, this picture is straight-from-camera, #SFC, # nophotoshop #getonourlevel

The conclusion of the matter is; invest in a fly coat that creates/ enhances a lovely silhouette (a fly short coat if your derriere is your pride and joy) and ‘werk’!

Ironically, this realisation has only come to me at the end of my last winter in Edinburgh as I prepare to graduate and head back home to the tropics. #le sigh

Note: fly means sharp, snazzy, stylish

What’s your fashion revelation?

10 thoughts on “Winter Fashion Dilemma Solved

  1. My fashion revelation: comfortable can actually be attractive AND presentable ! All encompassing clothing exists if you know what it is that is making you uncomfortable and you know what styles you like… And it doesn’t have to be expensive either! 😀 Lol

  2. Asha…………I know I’ve hid it so well and you’d never be able to tell….but yes, I’m not that great at the fashion thing… kwakwakwa
    well I’m all for the short thigh length coat, which for most of ya’ll would probably reach your waist, but anywhoo its a valid point about being snazzy in winter, I did mine through leggings/jeggings, just to highlight my *insert jamaican accent* seeeeeexy body, 😛 with a variety of nice jerseys, boots and then the main coat.. but I invested in the thermal wear mostly…

    Unfortunately some of us got them expensive tastes with shallow pockets, so getting a snazzy coat had also better be practical, since its an investment.

    P.S I am so for a romantic relationship in winter *insert soppy music with snowflakes*

    coming back to reality

    I think in any season, the mystery in modesty will help you weed them OUT.

Leave a Reply

